In the past, people stored knowledge in books. Nowadays, people store knowledge on the Internet. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In today's modern society, most information and knowledge are easily found on the internet. It is truly much more convenient compared to paper-based sources. However, the overall impact has been tremendously negative. Admittedly, the benefits of storing lessons and documents on the website are in plain sight. Through websites such as Google or Chrome, people can access a wide range of information which is totally time-saving compared to finding it in a book because they can receive knowledge whenever and wherever they want. Furthermore, instead of buying a book which costs at least 20$, users can use the internet to look for desired contents within a fingertip at no cost. In addition, online information offers users different platforms from video to audio with vivid visualizations for users about the information that they are looking for. Most younger generations nowadays, for instance, prefer learning through social media such as short videos on Tiktok or Youtube which they find attractive and have a lot of choices. Despite the advantages mentioned above, the drawbacks of the trend towards storing knowledge on the Internet are more significant.On an individual level, while online storage is easy to access, it makes users confused by tons of different sources. Moreover, online information is not under the control of authorities and might not be verified by professionals which leads to a lot of people consuming incorrect content if they do not select an authentic page. For example, a person calling himself doctor on Tiktok, told pregnant women that it is alright for them to use vitamin A during their pregnancy. However, this information is definitely wrong because according to scientists, mothers consuming a large amount of vitamin A in pregnancy will lead to several health risks for new born babies. If searching for information on the internet, users have to carefully select legit sources to avoid undesirable risks in the future.On business levels, internet -based information has paved the way for the boom of copyright infringement which dramatically affects the publishing company. Many websites have provided low cost books or even free books for their customers to earn their own benefits. Such illegal distributions are difficult to control and make publishing company lose millions of dollars every year. In conclusion, while there are some advantages of using the internet for searching information such as convenient and cheap, these are outstripped by the negative including inaccurate knowledge and copyright problems.