People in all modern societies use drugs, but today's youth are experimenting with both legal and illegal drugs, and at an increasing early stage. Some sociologists claim that parents and other members of society often set a bad example. Discuss the causes and effects of widespread drug use by young people. Make recommendations you feel are necessary to help fight drug abuse.

In this contemporary era, people are addicted to drugs, due to stress and pressure from their environment. It is an undeniable fact, most of today's families have both parents as their breadwinners, which jeopardizes the entire family structure. For some people, addiction to bad habits is a part of stress relief.The possible causes and effects of illegal dug usage, are discussed in the ensuing paragraphs. First and foremost,most of the youth follow the path pf parents, foster parents, and, other role models.Nowadays, parents and guardians follow a sedentary lifestyle due to their work pressure. Notably, socializing is an important tool used by young people as coping mechanism against adversities in life.One of the common problem found in todays generation is lack of good interpersonal skills. They are unable to convey their emotions to the elders because their parents are busy with work life. As a result, they get intimidated by substance abuse like drugs, alcohol and cigarettes to escapce from their stress. To illustrate, two weeks ago, there was a major illegal drug trade reported in the CUSAT campus by the media. It was written in the newspaper that about 20% of students are addicted to drugs in the campus. This aforementioned example, clearly states how vulnerable the pupils are towards such substances. Moreover, young adults experience a lot of peer pressure while growing up. They develop the patterns of behaviour displayed by their immediate social circle. Hence, if they belong to notorious gang, they model or imitate their behavioural patterns accordingly. To exemplify, my son's school reported few cases of illegal drug sales within the school premises, which are sold by some of the seniors. This example clearly states how peers can impact an individual. In conclusion, large number of youngsters and their family are affected by the drug abuse. I strongly believe that parents and role models can set rules and effective measures to tackle these problems.