The only way to improve road safety is to give more stricter punishments for driving offences. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view?

Stricter punishment means there is an enhancement on the driving misbehaviours. To a small extent I agree on this argument. In the following essay I will explain on the supportive and disapproving reasons. First, pedestrians are not following on the road regulations, leading to dangerous situations. They do not have high awareness on consistantly following the rules imposed and implied by the government. For instance, when there is a red light, meaning pedestrians should not cross the zebra crossing road. However, due to the busy and hustle living style in the society, they often ignore the "stop" signs. Instead, they cross the roads. Therefore, this situation reflects tighter punishments towards drivers are not the single solution to address the road safety problem. Second, the feasibility on how to determine the offensive actions is in a doubt. Drivers often follow the normal rules because they have the responsibility to maintain the road safety. They will violate the rules only when they face some instant issues. Like, an animal jump out from nowhere, drivers cannot react quickly. This may leads to a traffic tragedy. Imposing new rules still cannot reduce the chance of accidents. It will be hard to determine who is right or wrong in this circumstance. Hence, I do not approve stricter punishments are the only way to improve road safety. On the other hand, improving existing rules on driving violations has its importance. It is because it performs as a psychological deterrence based on the fear of facing severe consequences. Stricter penalites encourage individuals to adhere to them. By improving the awareness of the drivers, traffic safety can be protected. However, the socio-economic impacts after the implementation of the new punishments should be considered. Stricter punishments mean higher fines and penalities. Lower-income individuals and people who are suffering from financial burderns may not have the abilities to pay. This may lead to a higher engagement in following the new road safety rules. To conclude, implement tighter rules are collective responsibility, not solely relying on drivers nor pedestrians. To a small extent, I agree the need to give stricter rules on drivers irregulations as the only way to solve maintain road safety.