In maby countries, governments are investing in new technology to deal with the public. Why is this happening? Do you think this is an appropriate use of government money?

In this digital age, an increasing amount of money is poured into modern technology by governments to cope with the general public due to the fact that crime rates are soaring. It is the writer's conviction that such an approach is satisfactory as it enhances both security and living standard. It must be acknowledged that social evils are one of the most burning issues in metropolises. That is the reason why many local authorities have already installed hundreds of street cameras to alleviate the problem. With these smart devices, those who commit a crime can be tracked down from long distance and arrested by the police more easily. Additionally, the systems may be connected internationally, as can be seen in the case of an international kidnapper from Japan, who was followed by video footages and caught soon after his criminal commitment in 2014. The use of national expenditures for technology application is reasonable. Firstly, technology makes human life safer. Thanks to weather forecasts, people can organize work efficiently and reduce the risk of, for example, accidents on rod while travelling in rain. Secondly, the arrival of payphones enables citizens to make phone calls in case their mobile phones are out of batteries. Moreover, free hot spots are constructed to cater for the demand of internet connection of people especially teenagers. Therefore, investment in technology benefits human life a lot. In conclusion, the rise in hi-tech devices on streets helps to reduce crime. Furthermore, technology installation in public not only guarantees residents' safety but also improves their lives.