For countries, important parts of education have remained such as reading, writing and math. With the advent of computers, some people think that computer skill be mande as a fourth skill to be added to the list. To what extent do you agree.

The computer was invented almost a century ago and has become one of the most significant knowledge nowadays. Though the expertise of this skill may contribute to society, I believe that it doesn' t urgently include it as a mandatory ability besides writing, reading, or mathematics. On the one hand, from the very first of education, most students are taught basic skills (writing, reading, and math), albeit some of them have learned computers autodidactically since their earlier ages. Those skills are necessities for learning programming and logic and are compulsory for computer prowess hence there are certainly minimum requirements for those willing to learn computers. In other words, pupils from kindergarten and entry-level education are not necessarily required to start learning it. In addition, not all courses and concentrations need computers as a fundamental competence, for instance, arts and humanities. However, they mostly still demand basic skills, for example reading, to advance those subjects. One clear example is dancing and musicals. Many teachers deliver training or formal education, especially in these subjects, with less technological assistance, therefore computing devices aren' t likely required. Moreover, dealing with computational abilities undoubtedly entails devices and gadgets that are presumably not affordable for certain people, particularly in underdeveloped areas, where facilities or infrastructures aren' t as sophisticated as in towns or cities. In other words, some people are not able to purchase or have computers in their homes or schools, for instance, people from East Indonesia barely buy smartphones or other gadgets because they lack income, and instead they put money into basic needs (food or water). In conclusion, although computers have emerged as one of the most crucial competencies these days, I think they shouldn' t necessarily be made as a fourth skill because of affordability and inclusivity. I recommend including them in extracurricular activities.