In order to truly innovate, continued hard work is more important than intelligence. To what extent do you agree with this statement and why?

Innovation always stems from rudimentary factors that trigger a disruption to initiate a new idea. The debate over whether knowledge or determination to hard work has the biggest influence over innovation. It is my contention that to innovate a combination of both hard work and intelligence is crucial, therefore, each bears equal importance. First and foremost, historically, the most innovative human beings have always been renowned for their devoted and potent personality towards their missions. Innovators often encounter challenges, setbacks, and failures along their journeys. It is through persistent effort to keep them going by learning their lessons from these mistakes and never repeating them again in the future. For instance, regardless of the competencies and capabilities of individuals, it will be hard to imagine someone achieving notable progress and iterating on solutions until they reach breakthroughs. Moreover, intelligence is one of the most decisive indicators of creativity, displaying a positive correlation. It is worth noting that without acumen people will struggle to comprehend the complexities of theories, formulations and calculations. Intelligence is not limited to a person's soft skills, but covers wider aspects such as cognitive abilities. With the help of these skills, people can generate disruptive ideas to cause positive changes. Nevertheless, smartness alone does not guarantee innovative outcomes. Many smart individuals may fail to innovate the industry in which they are operating if they significantly fall short of the diligence and persistence required to refine their ideas, overcome impediments, and bring their visions to fruition. In conclusion, undoubtedly, being a diligent person along with possessing a deep understanding of topics unlike anyone else are considered the leading lenses towards creating a major modernization. While intelligence provides the foundation for innovation, perseverance helps people to reach these targets despite the multitudinous atrocities, both complementing each other.