Nowadays, it seems that different generations within the family spend less time doing activities together. Why is that? Is this a positive or negative development?

It is profound to see that generations these days are less interested in performing activities with their family members. I think, that condition happens because there is an individual difference regarding personal preferences to spend their time, and therefore, should be seen as a negative development since can decrease closeness among each family member. The primary reason behind this condition is due to the different interests. Even though family members live under the same roof, it is inevitable that each of them have different preferences to spend their time. Consider a five member family that have different styles to fill their leisure time. One of them may like to read a book while others tend to play mobile phone or scroll their social media. From that situation, it can be seen that is not plausible to adjoint them in a group activity since they already enjoy to do their own things or develop their own habits. Unfortunately, that situation can lower the level of closeness among each member. Imagine if the whole family rarely involve in doing activities together. Subsequently, they may ended up difficult to interact with other family members and can weaken their level of intimacy among each other. This phenomenon is still evident when people go back to their hometown during Eid-Al Fitr. Most of them, especially millennial and z generations prefer to spend their free time to play with mobile games rather than hang out with their relatives, resulting in the difficulty to blend themselves with other members if they have to engage in several occasions. In conclusion, some generations are having less time to engage in family activities in present times because they already possess different interests with previous generations, and unfortunately, it can lower the level of closeness among them.