In some countries university students live at home with their family while they study, whereas in other countries students attend university in another city. Do you think the benefits of living away from home during university outweigh the disadvantages?

It is evident that university students in some countries still choose to live together with their parents, while others prefer to live separately by attending university in another city. Although they can plausibly experience loneliness, that condition can subliminally drive them to shape useful attitudes and improve their concentration. Thus, I think the positive outcomes outweigh the negative ones. To begin with the drawbacks, living away from family can make students experiencing loneliness. This trend is evidently found among international students who have to live alone in their dormitory, resulting in not have other people to interact. A recent survey by the University of Cambridge has revealed that among their 150,000 foreign students, almost 87% of them admitted to experience loneliness during their university period. However, I believe it actually can be detered by encouraging them to engage in some organisational or volunteer activities that are held by university in order to expand their networks whilst they can make friends to minimise their loneliness. On the other hand, the decision to live separately from family during university period can maneuver students to become more independent. In fact, they are responsible for doing everything on their own. Starting from doing laundry, cooking and groceries, they have to be able to rely on themselves since they cannot ask for help to someone else or housekeepers. Another benefit is students can be more focus on their academic activities. Living alone can improve the level of concentrations that sometimes are required by students to do their tasks. It is because there is a slightest possibility that they will be distracted by noises that usually come from housing areas such as barking dogs or crying babies, as they live in an exclusive environment that enables students to comfortably learn. From the mentioned benefits, I think students will certainly perceived more positive outcomes when they decide to live away from home because there is a likelihood of constructing a behaviour, which later can be useful for them in the long run. Moreover, living alone provide an ideal circumstance for them to improve their academic attainment. To conclude, living away from family to pursue higher education can be challenging because someone may be exposed to loneliness. Nevertheless, I still think that the benefits far outweigh the mentioned drawbacks since it heightens chances for them to nurture independent behaviours as well as to improve their focus for getting a remarkable grade.