In many countries, the population of old people is increasing. Are there more advantages and disadvantages?

Developed countries tend to have increased population growth of old people. In numerous nations, the total number of elders is growing. Even though, old people have the benefits of increasing the national workforce; However, they are outweighed by the drawbacks of rising pressure on the pension and retirement system and pressure on the healthcare system Some of the old population is still active and reentering the labour market, and they possess knowledge and experience. As this active old population continues to work, it increases national productivity levels and expands the country's tax base. For example, every month, the elderly contribute a significant amount of money to the government in the form of taxes.. However, these merits are totally overridden by the demerits. The aging population can put lot of pressure on the healthcare sector and the pension and retirement system. The health of the aging decreases as they continue to grow older and as a result, they require ongoing medical attention. Therefore, the government has to allocate more funds to cater for their medical requirements. In addition, the pension and retirement services will have to contribute a lot of revenue in old aged pensions for the old people. In conclusion, the number of seniors is rising in many countries and their advantages of increasing national productivity levels are totally overshadowed by the cons of increased pressure on public services.