In education and employment, some people work harder than others. 1. Why do some people work harder? 2. Is it always a good thing to work hard?

It is almost a universal phenomenon these days that some people try to industry harder than their mates. A variety of reasons can explain why this is the case. In my opinion, I do appreciate these people who work hard, however, whether it is always good to keep working so hard is questionable. People work hard for several possible reasons. First of all, working hard is widely regarded as a virtue in some cultures around the world. In China, for example, parents feel satisfied when their children are praised by their teachers as diligent students. This kind of appraisal stays in our subconscious mind and influences our behaviour when we grow up. Secondly, due to the limited resources in the job market and the ensuing fierce competition, being hardworking is a way to prove that you are worthy of the position. Furthermore, working hard can also be considered a sign of pursuing a desirable future. People persuade themselves to work hard in order to offer themselves better life conditions and assure themselves of their ideal lifestyle. There is no denying that hard work brings many benefits as it can take one to a higher level and become a better version of oneself. However, I would understand life as a marathon rather than a dash. Sometimes we need to set a 'speed limit', and in this case, it means learning to rest. During the rest, we can do introspection and self-reflection knowing exactly which direction we want to go next. Through energy recovery, we gain the power to reboot as well. I once read a saying that the truth of life is hidden in our breath. Normally we breathe at our natural rate, but in an emergency, we can also increase its frequency to make a reaction. Besides, hard work day and night can be exhausting, while a break can sometimes bring unexpected good fortune. In short, there are many factors that lead to the prevalence of hard work today. I would suggest people learn to be aware of the importance of recovery instead of working hard on a daily basis.