Individual greed and selfishness have been the basis of the modern society. Some people think that we must return to the older and more traditional values of respect for the family and the local community in order to create a better world to live in. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, Selfishness and greed have become the societal norm. Undeniably, modernization has tremendously affected people ’s lifestyles in our contemporary world. A number of people believe that our traditional values such as respect for the family and the local community help us to build a better world. However, I firmly believe on this statement. Today we live in an era of Technology in which the whole earth has shrunk and become a global village. Everybody is connected to everybody through telephone lines and the internet but the warmth of relationships has taken a back seat. Most people have more than enough wealth, comfort and freedom but their hearts Desire even more. Therefor people think that older people are good for nothing and that is why they do not respect them. Moreover, Counting money is became first priority of most of the modern people than spending time with their family. For instance, in many family children cannot able to meet their father on whole week except on holiday. When children wake up father already leaved for job and when father returned home at night children already go for sleep. This should be critical problem because it may effect growth of children. Father returned home at night children already go for sleep. This should be critical problem because it may effect growth of children. In contrast, Life in the past was too simple. People respected each other and helped each other when needed. People spent time with their family every day by sitting together or by eating together. In the past they were habituated of sitting with their community and discussed any problem if any. There were very less divorce than now because they believed in each other and loved truly. If modern people respect each other, spend quality time with family and build a good relation with our local people then the result will be on positive side. To conclude, living in this modern toxic world, we are all slowly being poisoned to death. Therefore, it is clear that the traditional value based society is a better world to live.