Several people assert that the main cause of crime is an economically disadvantaged background. However, others say that crime is caused by a person's nature. Discuss both ideas and give your opinion.

Some argue that the most affected reason why people become criminals is due to their poverty at a young age, while others contend that crime happens just because of human’s inherent nature, regardless of wealth. In this essay, I will explore both perspectives but I believe that the former view is more persuasive. On the one hand, there are several reasons why some people believe human nature is the biggest factors when it comes to crime. First of all, personality is automatically decided as soon as they born. In other words, poverty does not matter when the personality is formed. For example, there are a lot of murderers who are so-called “ psycopaths psychopath ”. They usually just enjoyed murder and even felt pleasant, which showed that poverty has nothing to do with crime. Moreover, there are many successful people worldwide who overcome their poor backgrounds. Even though they were really poor, they went to great lengths to get over it to succeed. Therefore, background is just an excuse in explaining reasons of crime. Nevertheless, I think that poverty is the staple reason why people become criminals. Firstly, poverty prevents people from developing their moral values when they were at a young age. Compared to children who do not have to worry about their economic situation, poor children do not have any space solely to focus on their lives, leading to the deficient establishment of their values. In addition, children who are poor are more likely to face negative happenings because of their financial situation. For instance, many studies have already shown that when they researched the criminals’ backgrounds, many of them were poor when they were young. In conclusion, I firmly believe it is easy for people to become criminals when they were extremely poor when they were young. Therefore, governments and authorities worldwide should provide adequate welfare especially to poor children and it will eventually contribute to the reduction of crime rates.