It is more important for schoolchilrend to learn about local history than world history. To what extent do you agree or disagree ? (CONG THANH)

In the present time, many people agree that local history should be a priority over global history in schools. I completely agree with the opinion. I will explain the reasons in the following paragraphs. First of all, studying local history helps pupils develop a deeper understanding of their cultural roots and customs. When youngsters learn about their country's past heroes, traditions and wars, they tend to appreciate and feel patriotic about their national roots. This sense of belonging is so crucial and necessary for building pride and responsibility toward the country and society. For example, in Vietnam, learning about historical events like the resistance war or national reunification allows students to appreciate the sacrifices made by earlier generations. For example, the Dien Bien Phu campaign in the years 1954 ended the French colonial rule, unified the country. Secondly, Local history is often more relevant to students' lives, which helps history learners acquire insight. By contrast, world history topics like ancient Rome, Egypt, or European history may seem distant and less interesting, especially for younger learners. The local history learners have an appreciation for their national heritage. An example is The Temple of Literature, which is the place that has trained many talented people of the country and has contributed to the country's development period. The youngsters in Vietnam should be concerned with national current affairs such as education, economic issues, and taxes. In conclusion, I strongly believe that local history plays a more vital role in the education of schoolchildren. It builds identity, relevance, and engagement—essential elements for effective early education.