In education and employment, some people work harder than others. Why do some people work harder? Is it always a good thing to work hard?

Society always expects people to give their best while usually a few of them can sustain. However, it has been observed that some seem to exert more effort than the average person. This essay will discuss why some people work harder than others and whether it is always a positive thing. One of the motivations behind this is a drive to achieve something for themselves or their family. The students and workers know that it is necessary to sacrifice their personal leisure time to apply earnest effort so that they can succeed in school and the workplace, and eventually acquire recognition and financial rewards as well as satisfy their family’s expectations. Another reason is personal love for what they are doing. For example, some scholarly students just simply love to go to extra mile to study and understand more in the academic area they are interested in. Also, some employees have a deep passion for improving their skills and creating value for their company and customers. Despite that most individuals applaud such constant commitment, I still believe hard work is not always a good thing for individuals, especially when they can’t balance their life and work. A single-minded focus on one’s task may temporarily be effective, but finally, they will become inefficient due to fatigue body and mind, thus leading to poor results. In the long run, this may result in some health problems such as back pain and short-sightedness. Everyone needs to recharge their body and mind to continue making progress in their area. In conclusion, it is great that some people invest dedicated effort in their studies and jobs for their desires or personal interests. Nonetheless, they need to slow down sometimes so that their performance and health do not suffer.