People should only buy food sourced locally. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Nowadays, some people think that the population should acquire only food that comes from local sources. We can surely list some benefits and drawbacks related to this topic. On one hand, buying food sourced locally could have a huge impact on the economy of the local region. This is because many local retailers are often hidden, by the big companies, for a reason of costs and reputation. Therefore, buying only locally food could bring them more customers and, at the same time, a bigger return for the local producers of those products. Additionally, food that comes from local producers, could be of a better quality compared to what people find in the big supermarket. This could be justified from a well-controlled plan of production, that usually do not include chemical preservatives and other biological ingredients. On the other hand, local producers do not benefit from economies of scale, as they do not have a huge number of quantities produced. Consequently, the general prices for customers could be higher than those on the big supermarkets. This could lead to financial issues for some people. Furthermore, some territories have a lower number of resources that can be used to produce foods. This means that in some regions, people could have a very restricted opportunity of choice. This could lead other problems under a nutritional point of view. To conclude, I think that people should be obligated to buy local food from local retailers. But, at the same time, they should have the opportunity to buy products of other regions and nations to have a wider choice.