Some people say that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sports facilities. Others, however, say that this would have little effect on public health and that other measures are required. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is argued that, to increase the quality of public health, more sports facilities are necessary. However, not everyone agrees with this proposal. Many people believe that it would be ineffective and that other alternatives should be implemented. In my opinion, to effectively improve the health of the general population, prioritizing other measures like modernizing hospitals and health professionals' pay rise is paramount. Investing in sports centres can benefit humans healthiness. In fact, having athletics facilities in the community promotes the practice of different sports like CrossFit, running, and yoga, contributing to decrease chances of developing diseases such as heart attacks and dementia. In other words, when investing in spaces for sport practice, governments are working on preventative measures to support their community to be healthier. However, when exercising, people can injury injure themselves, which results in more health resources needs. In Brazil, for instance, the number of people having knee surgeries has risen considerably due to many individuals being injured after overexercising. Thus, not everyone agrees that investing in sports facilities is the best solution to improve society healthiness. There is also a strong argument that governments should be spending more on hospital modernizations and increasing the wages of underpaid health professionals. In Australia, for instance, nurses are recognised as essential workers, yet they need to fight for fairer salaries and adequate work conditions. Likewise, in third world nations, hospitals fail to offer modern treatments to their patients because they don't have the appropriate machinery. Considering these aspects, it becomes vital to guarantee that basic public health needs are met before investing in more spaces for sports. Hence, in my opinion, governments must ensure that a basic healthcare structure is met before investing in sport facilities. In conclusion, even though investing in sports spaces can help to prevent sickness, it is vital to ensure that basic public health such as modern necessities are met. A good solution is to guarantee fair wages to health workers and ensure hospitals are m