Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

It is true that the advent of technology and, as a result, state-of-the-art products - such as gadgets- have presently dominated the market worldwide. This has led many children to devote several hours per day to their smartphones for a variety of reasons. While I have sympathy for those who maintain the benefits of such devices, I believe that this is a partially negative development, and I will attempt to outline some underlying reasons for this. The causes why kids are attracted to technological devices can vary from playing games, to communication and study purposes. In this day and age, it is a prevalent phenomenon to see children playing addictive games available on the internet. Providing attractive goals such as gathering points and upgrading their features inside these games gives kids a sense of completion and this becomes attractive to their minds. Furthermore, by connecting to the internet, they have access to a wealth of information to address their problems and significant resources for their school materials. Another cause might be communicating with their peers or people around the world. Therefore, there are enough reasons for children to give their time to their smartphones. Yet, uncontrolled use of these gadgets is bound to be detrimental for children. This may make them lead a sedentary lifestyle, and as a consequence, most of the children are suffering from obesity, which would seriously affect their physical health in the near future. Worryingly, a study recently carried out in Iran showed that more than 50% of primary school students are suffering from overweight. However, provided that they are supervised by their parents, the negative impacts could be exacerbated. Regarding communication, it is undeniable that smartphones have provided many ways and a good case in point is video calls, making it as easy as possible to talk with any individual regardless of where they are. Nevertheless, kids don't pay as much attention to their vicinity. For example, you might find many of them playing with their phones rather than talking with their parents or their friends in public places. So, using gadgets in a proper way needs the effortless attention of parents, who shoulder a huge responsibility for their children's upbringing. To sum up, there are many roots in children's obsession with their smartphones nowadays, such as attractive games, communication, and education. However, at first glance, it might seem a beneficial development, there are many negatives for kids in case of physical and psychological health, which should be supervised strictly by their parents so as to deteriorate their drawbacks.