Fewer and fewer people today write by hand using a pen or pencil. What are the reasons for this? Is this a positive or a negative development?

the debate surrounding the decline in the number of people who write by utilizing their hands is now greater than ever. As these methods have heightened the speed, accuracy and accessibility to writing for individuals, the advantages of it outweigh the disadvantages. in this essay, the causes of the phenomenon will also be mentioned. to begin with, there are several factors that have led to this phenomenon. first and foremost, the advent of personal computers offered people the ability to copy and paste a text with one click, without it all by hand. in addition, the enormous appearance of digital technology, such as smart pencils or tablets has given people the opportunity to replace the digital surface, thus using less stationary for writing. to cite an example, nowadays the majority of students have replaced their ipads notetaking applications with a physical notebook, leading to a deterioration in pen or pencil use. The last but not least factor is credited to the substitution of paper-based books with online ones that have eliminated the need of notetaking with pens. for instance, there are a growing number of applications offering a variety of eBooks, such as Goodreads. the advent of the cutting-edged technology having caused this situation, it has brought numerous advantages to folks' lives, one of which is the intensified speed of writing, helping individuals to keep up with the high pace of modern life. to illustrate, consider being able to copy and paste a 7 page essay that would have taken hours to write by hand. Furthermore, this statement has brought more accessibility for people. importantly, they now have the opportunity to be engaged in writing whenever and wherever they desire. more notably, this ability has erased the problems people may face while writing. for instance, in the past people used to suffer from horrible handwriting, several grammatical and lexical mistakes in addition to having sweaty hands. however, some may claim that this may be detrimental and have drawbacks as people cannot fully comprehend the text they are reading, and be highly immersed in it. while this statement may be correct for older communities, it cannot be employed in modern life practices because people's learning, as well as comprehension foundation, are based on digital surfaces. hence, when it comes to being dramatically involved in a text or essay, they would find it much easier to work with their devices rather than with paper-based practices. to conclude, the dramatic improvement of technology has offered people the ability to write faster and easier, leading to the elimination of writing problems and personal development in dealing with modern society's demands.