Some people believe that professionals, such as doctors and engineers, should be required to work in the country where they did their training. Others believe they should be free to work in another country if they wish. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

It is true that many post-graduate students are interested in finding a high-powered job in another country that may pay them a far more competitive salary than where they have been educated. Although it is a commonly held idea that these experts should be barred from working abroad, I strongly believe that they must be free to manage their prospective careers; I am attempting to outline some key reasons for this. Firstly, professionals who work overseas may return to their own country after a few years as a more knowledgeable and civilized person. Having broadened their horizons and gained experience, they may go back to their own land so as to live with their family members and avoid major problems such as language barriers and cultural differences. So, letting students work in other countries would benefit both the person and their society, creating a more cultured and prosperous environment. Furthermore, this is against the freedom of choice, which is the foundation of democracy that humanity has been protesting and fighting for. Obviously, introducing obligations for skilled workers to prevent them from going abroad is neither humane nor practical, resulting in a decline in the number of people who study in these fields. Also, it may cause aggressive behaviours among professionals, deteriorating their performance as a consequence of the discrimination they have encountered. Finally, even if the professionals don't return to their educated country, they may send back money to their families. As many people are emigrating from developing countries to first-world countries, they probably help their families regarding economic affairs. Consequently, this would instil money in their country, increasing the governments' remuneration, which the powers that be and society are both bound to benefit from. To sum up, at first glance, it might seem an interesting perspective to obligate professionals to stay in their country in order to compensate for the expenditure the government has undergone to educate them, but the truth is that letting them work abroad would have way more merits. By gaining skills and experience, in addition to improving their job prospects, professionals, such as doctors, engineers, and lawyers, will be able to serve their compatriots in a better way.