In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family?

It is commonly seen in all of Britain that many elderly people live in care houses where they have professionals to look after them and give them basic medical treatments, if necessary. From my perspective, it is the government's responsibility to give financial support to these organizations since they have resources from taxes, and because many old people do not have family support. The main reason why I believe governmental resources should be used to pay for nursing homes is because most senior individuals have paid their taxes during their lives and should be able to benefit from it while in nursing homes. For instance, governments should prioritize and organize institutional money to help pay for third-age care. In consequence, care institutions should be considered public facilities and, therefore, offer free care to people in need who have contributed to their regions' development by paying their duties. Another reason for my agreement that public entities should be financially responsible for this care is that most elderly people have been abandoned by their families. This makes them a vulnerable group in society that needs constant companionship and, most of the time, medical treatment, but often do not have enough money from pensions to pay for everything they need. For example, many senior individuals in Brazil have to keep working until the end of their lives because they do not have other monetary means to pay for their living. In conclusion, I completely believe that the government should be in charge of paying for elderly nursing homes since most of them have paid their taxes throughout their lives and many of them do not have familial support anymore. Therefore, institutional organs should organize their monetary resources better and make elderly carehouses free of charge to the public.