In some countries, there is not enough recycling of waste materials (e.g. paper, glass and cans). What are the reasons and solutions?

Improving the recycling rate of waste materials has been a hot subject since the emergence of raw materials shortage at the beginning of this century. However, relevant efforts seem not to achieve the expected effects in many nations. It seems to me that the reason behind the issue is that we lack effective reward mechanisms. The first issue has been common, namely, we loudly advocate for people to engage in environmental activities but do not offer them rewards. The Football World Cup held in Germany provides a vivid illustration of how willing people are to recycle waste materials when offered considerable rewards. The organisers will repay each customer two dollars for helping recycle Coke bottles, which has significantly increased the recycling rate of Coke bottles. The example has clearly indicated that the government lead people to be environmental with practical benefits rather than eloquent words. Against the issue mentioned above, I suggest the government allocate more funds to reward people for recycling waste materials. This proposal can be realised in many forms, not only in the form of immediate refund as adopted by the German government. For example, the government can set up "Recycling ATMs" in the street. If burghers throw metal cans or plastic bottles into the machine, it will print to them vouchers which can be used in local supermarkets. According to Japan's experiments, this strategy is considerably useful. To summarize, the comparatively low recycling rate of waste materials in some countries is partly due to the lack of economic stimulus. Therefore, I suggest the government consider more investment into material rewards, which has been demonstrated by many countries as an effective strategy.