If a person is found to be under the influence of drugs or alcohol while driving, they should be banned from driving for life, whether they were involved in an accident or not. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that if people use illegal substances or alcohol, they should not be allowed to drive under any circumstance, which warrant termination of their driving license permanently, regardless whether they are involved in any accident or not. I completely agree with the statement because this is one of the many ways to prevent harm to innocent people and there are other options available than driving. Drivers who drive while intoxicated with drugs or alcohol should be prohibited from driving permanently to avoid innocent bystanders being harmed. Under the influence, one loss the ability to drive properly due to impaired judgement clouded by those substances, and could easily causes accident, hence, stricter punishment is needed to educate the community on the weight of their action. For example, in the UK, individuals causing death by dangerous driving or careless driving under influences can receive lifetime driving ban, however, I believe that the law should be exercised regardless if accident happen or not. In addition, lifelong driving prohibition should be imposed to remind drivers that they have alternative transportation methods after drinking. People will be afraid of losing their driving privilege and trying their best to avoid driving after consumption of alcohol or illegal substance. For example, in South Korea, which popular with drinking culture, there are hired driver services available for people who wish to avoid driving after a drinking party, which can be reserved ahead or by call, depending on the situation. In conclusion, it is argued that someone who drive after drinking alcohol or using drugs should be prohibited to drive for life to protect the public from harm and there are other options than driving under heavy influence from those substances.