The personal information of many individuals is held by large internet companies and organisations. Do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Growing number of people are becoming concern about the cyber organizations like Meta, Google and others storing the digital data. This practice has many drawbacks as well as some benefits. In my opinion, the collection of digital footprints is more dangerous as compared to its benefits. To begin with, the stroge of individuals data by companies can be beneficial to some extent. Few of the dominant benefits could be it provide convenience and proved helpful in emergency situations. Due to the storage of the personal data companies predict our next moves and offer services accordingly to smoothen the process. For instance, the auto-suggestion feature on every smartphone key predicts our writing style and suggests the words to improve our writing. Secondly, in the case of emergency this could be life saver. Nearly every device nowadays connected with internet kept our data, which can be easily shared in any kind of emergency. With just one click or voice command we share our location and inform emergency services or family about emergency. On the other hand, there are major concerns and the disadvantages of organizations storing data cannot be ignored. First and foremost, privacy information leak is paramount. Although, the internet companies claim their databases are protected, but many times the breach of the database is observed resulting in confedential data leak. This may lead to a crime or cyberbullying. For example, hackers make a cut through the phone security stealing personal data and images, later using to give threats. Another major concern is the manipulation of the data. Cyber organizations can easily manipulate or generate new data for their favour. One major example of this is the case of data manipulation by the hackers organization named “Anonymous” during Trump’s presidential elections. To conclude, while storing data can be beneficial in some cases, the drawbacks clearly outweighs in my perspective.