Most teenagers today own a smartphone. Provide your opinion to discuss the advantages and disadvantages.

In the contemporary era, many adoloscents have a smartphone. There are many advantages and disadvantages of this trend and this essay will examine further some of the upsides and downsides associated with the development. Primarily, parents buy smartphones for their kids to communicate actively with them while they are away from home. To exemplify, if a school student gets late from his tuition class, he or she updates his parents through phone or text message. It is a great way to keep parents informed of the whereabouts of their kids when they are naive at this age and need guidance at every moment of their lives. This is one of the reasons why the school authorities cannot completely ban the usage of phones. Next, the school students generally say that they need these devices to take pictures of school notice board or some notes that their teacher has written for them which they could refer whenever in need. For example, if there is a notice on the school notice board regarding any change in the schedule then the students can have a photo of that and can save it for the future reference. On the contrary, there are many situations when parents and teachers realise that kids are using these devices in a wrong way. For example, kids keep on scrolling social media reels for hours and do not keep track of their time. Hence, the best time of their lives gets wasted. There are many distractions which could easily allure an individual towards these phones and can make them an addict. Besides this, sometimes the content available on the phone is not appropriate for teens to view. It can be illustrated by an example, there is no censor for adult movies in some countries and teens can easily access such websites and watch these when they are not the intended audience for such videos. So, the ease of access to such content has become a trouble for their guardians. To conclude, kids can utilize this technology in a positive way such as taking notes or even to stay in touch with parents. Although, a negative side is also there like wasting time and watching inappropriate videos which should be avioded. Thus, teens have to understand both sides of the viewpoint then should take a decision on owning a phone.