The government should control the internet to reduce cybercrime and ensure safety of users. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement

The authorities need to regulate internet to improve user's security and to decrease internet offences. From my perspective, it is not an appropriate suggestion to improve user's safety also it can lead to a myriad of problems. To begin with, when government controls the worldwide web then a basic human right called as freedom of expression diminishes. Then the government can control the internet use and could ensure what kind of things are discussed over the internet and could oppress anyone who tries to offend the government. For example, in many countries, authorities can easily delete any post written by people who have account on social media platforms. Thus, this regulation makes the government undemocratic but the basic purpose of controlling cybercrime remains unsuccessfull. In addition, excessive internet usage regulations can provide an unwanted access of public data whether it is social or personal information to the regulatory bodies. It is a kind of a dystopian reality which noone want to think about. Because, nobody want anyone to see what they message to their family or friends. To exemplify, when a person messages to his family member it is stored in a cloud service and if its control reaches government then people will feel really unsafe. Thus, a user's privacy is under threat. To conclude, this regulatory measure is a wrong way to decrease cybercrime. It does not fulfill the actual purpose but it puts privacy of a user under threat and also public lose freedom of expression. The government should be punishing cyber offenders rather than controlling the internet.