Money spent on space exploration is a complete waste. Governments could better spend this money on other things to benefit the nation. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Space exploration offers us the chance to learn a great deal of new things. However, as it costs an exorbitant amount, we need to decide the best way to allocate our resources. I would argue that there are more pressing problems that need addressing but that there may be other ways for us to continue funding space exploration. There are a number of problems which are still affecting the world today. Despite incredible advancements in science and technology there are still billions of people who struggle with health, education, food and water, shelter and security. Many people suggest that we lack the resources to resolve these problems and therefore should not waste billions of dollars on exploring space. On the other hand, there is much to be learnt from the exploration of space. There is the possibility of discovering new materials and energy sources. Some scientists even suggest that we may be able to colonize other planets or make contact with other life forms. Given that the universe is so vast, it does not make sense to only focus on our planet. One possibility of continuing to explore the universe while improving the quality of life on earth is through greater cooperation between countries. For example, a global space agency could be founded which allows for countries to share their resources. This would enable countries to allocate funds more effectively and would avoid the duplication of research. In conclusion although it seems immoral to spend money to explore space instead of addressing global problems, it would be ignorant to turn our back on space. One solution would be to better share our resources in order to benefit mankind