Some of the methods used in advertising are unethical and unacceptable in today’s society. To what extent do you agree with this view?

Some actions taken in the commercial industry are considered to be inhuman and have no place in the current world. I strongly side with this belief. Because, such methods can be misleading and cause damage to consumers. Firstly, advertisement can decieve people into making wrong decisions or make them think they are in need of their goods. By tricking customers and taking advantage of their lack of knowledge in certain fields. As a result, they can take their money with no remorse or feeling of guilt. For example, the cellphone company Nokia, introduced their phone in an advertisement, show-casing how people not owning a Nokia product, are considered to be outcasts. Hence, many users were pressured by such ads into the need of this phone. Even many spending their savings on a wasteful product. Also, not everything shown is truthful. Some of the ads potentially hide the fact that many of their productions cause damage to the environment, animals or users themselves. For instance, a brand of cooking pot that was popularised via advertisement, was found to have Lead in it's material, a dangerous substance that can cause serious issues for nature and consumer. Another example can be a beer ad, in order to show that their drinks are foamy, they will add soap to it. But the truth of the matter is different. To conclude, advertisements should be ethical and straight-forward in today's world for them to be acceptable. And creating a false sense in people or hide harmful side effects in the commercials can not be toleratable.