prisons are an expensive way of making bad people worse to what extent do you agree or disagree

All around the world, people who break the the law are sentenced to be imprisoned as a consequence of their actions. A notable number of people claim that putting offenders in prison is not cost effective at all. They claim that imprisonment may aggrevate aggregate bad behaviours and impose high costs on governments. This essay discusses both ideas supporting and opposing this status. To begin with, it is widely believed that governments spend millions of dollars on building prisons, hiring security guides, and providing the prisoners with free food, water, and electricity. At the same time, prisoners have to spend their whole time for several years with other offenders who might have a wide range personality disorders. If one prisoner has a weak personality, might ends up adapting those misbehaviours. For instance, one person has been imprisoned following a pickpocketing, but for a definite time have to live with inmates who are convicted because of violence. Therefore, as a result of avoiding being bullied by others one has to display aggression as well. On the other hand, other people declare that prisons are a necessity in a society. one reason is the jail's deterrance deterrent effect. There might be some people who have inner intentions to break the law, however the fear of being caught and punished prevents them from doing so. In addition, in most prisons around the world rehablitation programmes are being held. For example, detainees are taught how to play music or do carpentry. Activities chosen by these programmes are the ones that can cherish one's soul and help them to face and handle their inner turmoils and angers. It is assumed that these measures can reduce the recidivism rate. In summary, Although building and maintaining prisons enforces a great burden to a country's economics, I am inclined to think that their presence is paramount to control the crime rate in a society and has more benefits than disadvantages.