In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centers or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or a negative development?

Not very long ago, big malls and shopping centers are taking over small stores due to less consumer flow. I think this is a positive development because large malls offers different brands in one place which reduces people's time and effort. Large shopping complex consists of different stores which offers a wide range to it's customers. Often, people love to purchase from different brands, since they can find it in one spot there by saving time. Another benefit of visiting these shopping plazas is they provide ample parking which is another convenience for the people. For instance, Yorkdale mall is so enormous that it consists of huge number of brands and a spacious parking for it's customers. First of all, the biggest impact of these malls can be noticed as the small-scale stores are getting closed. As consumers have to visit various shops for thier needs. On the other hand, since the large stores offers more parking, it often tends to traffic congestion which in turn leads to environmental pollution. Lastly, as these shopping centers offers different hubs such as entertainment, food court area which attract thieves making it a security concern. As it is very easy for them in these large gatherings. For example, every year there is an increase in the crime rate at shopping plazas according to recent news reports. To conclude, even tough there are some disadvantages of shopping malls, local customers still prefer to visit them instead of local shops as they provide more convenience.