Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some people believe that the solution to crime reduction is to sentence them for longer periods of time. On the other hand, many argue that other methods can be used for a decrease in illegal actions. My belief stands with the latter because the former opinion is useless and prisoners can be taught to serve in other fields and professions. Increasing the sentences given by the system to criminals can be a great way to prevent them from further charges. This method can threat them, and they will be afraid of serving a longer time in jail. Hence, they will no longer live a life crime in the future, or prevents normal civilians from such actions. For instance, if an individual ever thinks about committing one, they will scared of the consequences it may bring by this increase of sentences. Yet, this tactic is proved to insufficient. Such people will never learn their lesson, and continue to commit future crimes because they lack morality and a sense of being useful. If the government provides a rehabilitation program for them, prisoners can rediscover their purpose or talents. Additionally, they can return to society as a normal person with improved morals. For instance, Tom Hardy once lived a life of crime, but he found his talent for acting as a gateway to save himself. with many other examples of people learning carpentering or toy making while being in prison. To conclude, the discussion of wether giving longer jail times or shift to better methods stands, the former can prevent many by creating fear, but is no longer sufficient. While shifting to alternate ways like teaching them skills which they can use to better themselves is clearly superior.