There is a lot of pressure on young people today to succeed academically. As a result, some people believe that non-academic subjects, such as physical education and cookery, should be removed from the school syllabus so that children can concentrate on academic work. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays students come across the pressure that they have to be successful in academic studies. Some people tend to think that non-academic subjects are not essential and it is more useful if young people will improve only their academic subjects. However, the issue is not entirely straightforward, and arguments can be made against the idea. This essay will discuss a debate, and give a concluding view. On the one hand, it seems that indeed students go to university to get a specialization in a certain field of study and they must to obtain only skills that will help them to get a job and perform duties. Since the years of study are restricted it would be better to keep focus on specific subjects. For instance, it is possible that some students can lose an opportunity to understand the material of main lectures because secondary subjects take up time and as the result young people can not find any other time to improve and achieve more success in their field of study. In contrast, learning non-academic subjects give young people an additional knowledge and at the same time an educational institution does not impose a ban on variety of subjects. Not only should university to prepare students for a future job, but also an adult life in general. Moreover, young people by studying subjects other than their professional can let them to change the focus and rest from academic activities. Finally, my way of thinking there should be a balance in various types of studies. There are a significant number of benefits to learning both academic and non-academic subjects throughout the study period. However, students need to remember what is their main focus and prioritize time correctly.