User Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out. In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and, if so, how?

Some argue that we should give more emphasize on learning English than learning local language in formal curriculae, however, many native languages are at risk of being forgotten if they are not being passed on. I think that, it is crucial for everyone to study English because it is a lingua franca and it should be useful in many aspects, but, our mother tongues should also be preserved through funding and various programmes by government and higher authority, as they are served as part of our cultures. On one hand, English language is commonly used nowadays across the globe, and learning English should be benefial for many. It serves as a bridge to faciliate communication in many parts of the word, especially in bussines and tourism sectors, also prerequisite in pursuing higher education which eventually will open many doors for oversea studies and to aplly better job globally. For example, many people opt to study and undertake IELTS exam for English proficiency to look for work opportunities in English speaking countries such as United Kingdom, New Zealand and Australia. On the other hand, although it is important to study English, people should not be putting down the importance of native languages. We should make sure that the local languages being passed on to the younger generations because they carry unique identity and part of our culture. The state should provides money to make programmes for longevity of our cultures and languages, while the higher education systems should ensure the languages will always be part of our academic curriculae. For example, universities should offer courses and gives support in language preservation, and give recognition for people who contribute in language and culture preservation. In conclusion, we should acknowledge that English language is important because it connects people in the world through many fields, but we should never make native languages being forgotten by the world, as it is part of one unique culture.