Some people think that the increasing use of computers and mobile phones in communication has negative effects on young people's reading and writing skill. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It's undeniable that the use of technology has been dominating almost every aspect of our lives. As a result, the use of gadgets has a negative impact on communication and language skills. I wholeheartedly agree that the use of computers and mobile phones for communication has an unfavourable effect on young people’s reading and writing abilities. The first reason is that most of the smartphones have autocorrect function. If we type a misspelt word, autocorrect will correct it without informing us. Most smartphones are designed with this in mind. It will suggest words to you even if you are only typing the first two characters of a word. Moreover, it affects young people’s learning habits. Young people become more dependent on the autocorrect function while learning one-word vocabulary. Hence, it affects their dictionaries. Second, all data is now accessible online. This means that children do not need to remember information but can easily access data with a single click. For instance, if you are writing a letter, you can easily get all the formatting from different websites. In the past, people learned different formats by hand. Handwritten paper had its meaning, but now it has none. This limits children's knowledge and language skills because they do not need to keep everything in their heads. This is leading to a decrease in reading and writing abilities. To sum up, although desktop and mobile devices offer a lot of benefits, they don’t stop students from learning by making it easy to access all the language information they need. Obviously, students don’t need to remember spelling or learn a bunch of different writing styles that could affect their future performance.