Some people say that in all levels of education, from primary school to universities, too much time is spent on learning facts and not enough learning practical skills. Do you agree or disagree.

The gap between theoretical knowledge and practical skills has become a hotly debated topic nowadays. Some people claim that the current education system, from elementary school to tertiary education, focuses mainly on providing general knowledge and not sufficient attention paid to their practical implementation. I tend to agree with this statement, as from my perspective both an assessment methodology and a physical environment are designed to encourage students to learn pure facts and not to practice them. Firstly, during the all learning period most of the time, students are assessed according to the data they learn from books. Furthermore, most exams are created to check the ability of the pupils to gain, understand and match the information. For instance, even in science class, the marks are given based on the written work, which contains an explanation about how the experiment should be conducted, instead of the actual experiment's result. Taking into consideration that experiments may be more time-consuming and significantly more expensive than regular tests, most institutions choose this way, which proves my point. Secondary, schools, colleges and universities are built a way that supports frontal learning. The large number of people in class and the only one teacher who uses the board to explain the topic. The classrooms do not encourage brainstorming or teamwork and, consequently are not useful for developing practical skills that are essential in real life. To conclude, due current way of assessment and teaching environment limitations, I agree that students from the beginning of their educational journey are taught how to work with information on theoretical basis, without providing many opportunities to practice it.