Many manufactured food and drink contains high level of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

Many people are suffering from the harmful effects of processed food and drink containing high amounts of sugar. Some believe that there should be a rise in the price of these products in order to discourage families from purchasing them. I totally disagree with this approach as it will have negative consequences. In my opinion, the price couldn't be the only deterrent to buying sugary foods. We can see that lots of people choose to eat chocolates or drink soda to have happy times during the day. Scientists have also proved that the addiction to carbohydrate can be stronger than any other drug, so it would be difficult for some individuals to quit eating sugary meals even if they have financial problems. Furthermore, not all sugar-incorporated foods are risky, like bread, fruit juices etc. Thus, increasing the prices would negatively affect the lives of poor families since they could not afford to provide the necessary nutrients. I believe the government can opt for other alternatives for reducing the hazards of sweet meals. They can increase the awareness of the public by running health-related campaigns, for example, Monday without Sugar, or a sugar-free month. As a result, everyone would be motivated to take constructive action regarding her/his health. On the other hand, health agencies should push manufacturers to produce sugar-free products or at least to make their users aware of unhealthy ingredients of an item before making the purchase. In conclusion, consuming too much sugar is proven to be a high risk to our bodies and some people suggest that by leveraging on the price they can control its usage. By opposing this idea, I provided some useful strategies that address the root cause of the issue which could have long-term impacts.