Write about the following topic: Some people believe that it is important to spend a lot of money on family celebrations. While others think it is a waste of money. Discuss both views. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 254 words.

It is a known practice for some families to host a celebration whenever there is a special occasion. Other people hold the opinion that this is not practical and is a waste of resources. This essay will discuss both views and highlight examples for both. First of all, hosting a party is one way of commemorating special occasions or milestones in a family as this allows everyone to celebrate each other's success. Consequently, celebrating events such as birthdays, graduations and weddings are one of the few reasons why people spend money on family celebrations since this is a once in a lifetime event only. Furthermore, these occassions promote stronger family ties as relatives from far places attend these occasions and would catch up with the other family members. Children would get the chance to meet their distant cousins, aunts, and uncles which is important to their growth as a person. In this way, this also serves as a family reunion so it is relevant to spend money on these type of occasions. On the contrary, some people think that spending money on such parties is not economical due to the inflation we are experiencing today. It is undeniable that hosting these type of events would sometimes break the bank if one does not budget properly and would lead to regrets later on. From small factors such as transport going to the venue to paying caterers for the food, it all involves spending money which is why some people are reluctant to spend money on family celebrations. Another reason why people think this could be a waste of money is because some prefer to have a small and intimate celebration rather than hosting a grandiose party. They prefer to have relatives who are close to them to keep everything simple and private. In conclusion, spending money on family celebrations has it benefits and drawbacks. While some people think this is not economical, I am of the opinion that having these type of celebrations once in a while is way of bringing the family closer to one another.