Many foods are shipped from far away. Some people think that eating local food is more environmentally and economically. Do you think the advantages outweigh its disadvantages?

It is often observed that various foods are either exported or imported from other cities or countries. Many argued that the consumption of local food supplies would benefit our environment and would be cost-effective. I think that the advantages of this practice outweigh the drawbacks in terms of sustaining nature and paying a lower price for crops and vegetation. To commence with, one of the major benefits of utilising local supplies is minimal food wastage. In other terms, when supplies get transferred to other places, during the process, a number of production gets destroyed, and many vegetables and fruits are produced for quick consumption, packing these products damages numerous crops in transit. For example, when producers pack all their production for export, they dispose of a large number of vegetables, which do not seem that fresh by appearance, and are later dumped into landfills. Hence, the practice of sending local food production to urban areas or to big cities, wastes a lot of production. Secondly, local produces are cheaper as compared to other production. To explain, when buyers consume local supplies instead of imported ones, they save on transportation cost, the storage cost and other additional cosst cost associated with the production of imported foods. Due to this reason, local shops sell vegetables and fresh fruits at decent price, which benefits both cosumer consumers, as well as, the seller. Thus, eating local products is proved to be more economical. In conclusion, a large number of food supplies are brought from nearby cities or countries. I believe that eating local foods will benefit our surroundings by controlling wastage and would be a more cost-saving practice by saving fuel and storage costs.