The increase in food production owes much to fertilizers and better machinery, but some people think that it has a negative impact on human health and community. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is said that fertilizers and sophisticated machinery can improve food production yield. Nevertheless, some people believe that it could have adverse effects on people’s health and the environment. Personally, I entirely agree with this statement for some reasons, which will be elaborated on more below. Perhaps, one main reason for this is that if a farmer constantly used non-organic fertilizers, people who eat the products would get potential physical diseases such as obesity because they have many hazardous chemical ingredients. A case in point is in Indonesia, there is a growing number of obesity rates attributed to consuming chemical-fertilizer-nurtured plants. In addition, by using this method, the land would experience detrimental effects. This can make the soil harden and lose its porosity. This is because the use of fertilizers increases acid levels in the soil, leading to difficulties to find healthy soil which we need to grow plants, thus being able to reduce production where the government would inevitably import others to meet people’s needs. In other words, the price of a product might be expensive where this can lessen a citizen’s ability to feed his own needs. As a result, the government tends to deal with undernourished ones. Looking from a different perspective, it might be said that chemical materials used for food seem beneficial to some extent, which is that it quadruples the yield and improves the quality of crops. However, I personally believe that this could be an unwise viewpoint considering the drawbacks that it may contain. In conclusion, it seems to me that chemical materials have detrimental effects on not only human beings but also the environment.