Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages

It is an arguable topic that children should start learning the language of other country while they are in the primary school instead of secondary school. In my opinion learning a different language at folk school has more benefits than drawbacks. The first and foremost positive of this is that a child’s brain is more active at this age. They have a better grasping power and learning ability as compared to high school children. Therefore it is easy for them to understand and learn a language that is different from their mother tongue. Apart from that, if they learn foreign language properly than this will act as an extra skill in them that will help them to communicate with people outside of their country. For instance, if they know English well and opt for studying abroad in future than they will be able to exchange their ideas easily with the people of that country. In addition to that, with the ability to speak and write another language young one’s will be able to secure better jobs in the multinational companies for example, get recruited in large import and export corporations to deal with foreign clients. Although, on the negative side, if children will start learning a new language in the preparatory school than they will be overwhelmed with extra burden. Furthermore, because of this they will not able to focus on all the other subjects properly and this will effect their overall concentration thus resulting in poor performance. For example, diversion of focus could lead them to bad grades. In conclusion, although learning an unfamiliar language in graded school can sometimes act as a burden on a child but considering the overall positives it has on them in future, benefits of this outshine the negatives.