In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

When a person matures and reach their old age in the United Kingdom, they are usually sent to a house for the elderly where nurses look after them. In some cases, national government provides the funds for this care. However, a number of people wonder who should be responsible for them, their families or the rulers of the country. In my opinion, the higher-ups should be the ones to do as the medical treatment is getting more expensive as well as the fact that retired people have paid their taxes for the state. To begin with, the medical equipment and facilities are getting more advanced and pricey every day and as such, the relatives of the seniors will have a problem supporting them. To put it simply, their brood maybe not able to provide the necessary financial support as they are busy preparing the future of their children. For instance, they could be working at a low salary job merely to supply their kid with everything they may need. Therefore, British government should pay for their safe keeping as the families of retirees may be too busy or not financially stable enough to provide them themselves. Furthermore, the grandparents have paid their duty to the top brass of their nation, and they should give a good environment in return. In other words, the old-timers of England had already made their contributions to their kingdom at young age, consequently it would only be fair, if the ministry had ensured that they are given an appropriate attention by professional nurses and specialists. For example, in 2022-23 Britain had raised around 1 trillion income from charging their citizens, that is around 40% of whole economy of UK. Hence, the heads of the state should be the ones to fund the treatment for the elderly, as a favour to them for being loyal civilians and paying taxes. In conclusion, treatment of aged people should be entrusted to government as the close relatives may be too busy and due to the fact that the seniors have already paid their duty to their country.