Some people think that the amount of money spent on libraries is a waste as new technologies are developing and replacing library functions. Do you agree or disagree?

In the present age, whereas investment in the cutting-edge gadgets has more benefits than in libraries has sparked much debate. The majority find technology more suitable for today‘s fast-moving world while others greatly admire cultural and communicational facilities of libraries. Firstly, replacing paper books with innovative devices provide us with a range of benefits including functionality, portability and accessibility. By and large, libraries are for reading, lending the books or learning whereas the technology let us use an endless list of functions: reading digital books or reports, exploring the news, searching for any kind of information, learning, summarizing, to name but a few. Moreover, in one gadget we have a chance to keep hundreds of books which is much more convenient than carrying out only one which is frequently even bigger than the device. Therefore, dedicating more money to digital development may even expand plentiful possibilities of computers. On the other hand, libraries are not just for collecting books, they play an essential role of gathering like-minded people. More specifically, libraries require financial support with a view to raising cultural awareness by organizing conferences or projects which enables people to share the same passion for writing poetry, discussing arts or politics and analyzing professional issues. For instance, an event called ‘‘Poezijos pavasaris“ annualy takes place in the National library in Vilnius in order to inspire participants by the magic of poetry. As a result, if libraries were demolished, no locations would be eligible for such meaningful purposes. To sum up, financial support for libraries may lead to expansion of cultural knowledge by artistic events and social gatherings, however, many people opt for focusing on technological progress as computers are more functional and adjustable. I believe that it‘s worth spending on mechanisation as it is more likely to bring about a positive change in humanity. (304 words)