Cramming and immersion are becomingly increasingly recognised methods of gaining knowledge in an area, other people disagree and say that only through lifelong learning can a subject be learnt. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Use specific reasons and examples to support your position.

While many people believe that cramming and immersion methods of learning are the most effective ones to learn a language or skill, other people claim that becoming dominant in merely available through lifelong; however, I hold the conviction that mixing both methods can work more influentially. On the one hand, a skill can easily stick in mind, according to a widely held belief, if the learner has a situation in which he can use that skill. Indeed, someone who starts learning a language or skill theoretically, but does not have the opportunity to utilize the skill practically, would not be able to identify his weak points and upgrade his abilities to an advanced level. Therefore, cramming and immersion are considered a superior procedure to help a person improve his capabilities. Take a French language learner as an example who is able to learn the required grammatical structures, vocabularies, and even idioms, however, he would be a native-like speaker if he lived in a French-speaking country. This is because a person has the chance to interact with native speakers, and hence he is able to speak, listen, and write in French accurately. However, other people believe that, for example, learning a language cannot be limited to residing in a country, rather it requires a long-term exposure, repetition, learning, and attention. This is why an expert spent a considerable amount of life learning and improving a skill. Therefore, that skill cannot be expected to be learnt and improved in a short amount of time. Additionally, it is believed that, learning something using cramming and immersion cannot lead to reaching an acceptable level of skillfulness. A person who learnt plumbery experientially, for instance, may fix trivial problems in his house, yet, he is not able to work as a professional plumber since he does not have the ability to detect fundamental issues. In conclusion, after considering the above-mentioned points, I believe that neither cramming and immersion nor lifelong learning can work separately. A person who aims to learn a language or a skill, must focus on the required rules and points while he is taking advantage of cramming and immersion simultaneously.