It has been noted that many people who had a big impact on the world gave themselves completely to their work and did not bother with the idea of “work-life balance”. To what extent should people try to have a good work-life balance?

It has been argued that a large number of people who had a big impact on the world were completely devoted to their work and did not care about the notion of work -life balance. Whilst people need to be invested in their professional lives to do their work the best they can, I believe that we need to prioritise the time we spend with our family and friends, which makes us feel happy and mentally healthy. People who are completely devoted to their work often have a career plan and do everything possible to be promoted to the top of the ladder, which can damage their personal and sentimental lives. For example, young workers with high-responsibility positions focus only on their jobs and don't have time to be invested in a long-term love relationship, which leads them to be single for a long time. People who choose to have a balanced work -life, however, can enjoy personal moments with their family and friends. They take time for their loved ones. For example, they organize their work time to pick up their children from school and do more work at home. Additionally, giving priority to spending time with relatives or friends encourages a balanced mental health. As an aside, the notion of work -life balance is very important in New Zealand, which allows people to feel happy and open towards others. Moreover, sharing time between work and personal time allows people to give their free time to others. In other words, being more selfish can make them more generous. For example,they can spend time in charity organizations. In conclusion, whilst we have to be invested in our work to do it the best we can, I believe that we need to care more about a well-balanced life shared between work and free time, which allows people to feel happier and healthier.