One major problem faced by large cities is traffic congestion. What do you think the causes are? What solutions can you suggest?

Traffic bottleneck is a majority issue confronted by megacities. There are two main causes, numerous populations in big cities and the increasing number of new cars. Possible solutions would be a government investment in the development of infrastructure in small towns, which can, in the long run, enable residents to access public transportation. With that, this issue is expected to be reduced. One of the reasons for traffic jams in the major city is the massive population living in a big city, as it usually provides a variety of facilities, such as shopping malls and business centres. As a result, people around the nation move to the metropolis and settle there, which consequently impacts growth in the transport volume. For example, residents from regional areas are moving to Sydney, and a vast amount of them work in the central business district in the morning which is necessary for them to transport from home to office. With that, it creates a high volume of movement. To tackle this point the government should invest in infrastructure development for small towns, which includes distributed business centres and public transportation. Another problem causing movement blockage that needs to be considered is individuals can buy a new car easily, which increases the numerous of vehicles on the road. Consequently, this can create a high volume of flow on the road, which contributes to 25% of traffic jams. One possible solution is the authority should raise taxes on those individuals who drive personal cars to the centre of town. This solution is currently used by some nations, for instance, Singapore, which is the key to decreasing the volume of movement in the core of a city. In conclusion, traffic blockage is a primary problem because of massive populations and an increase in new cars. The authority needs to invest in the infrastructure construction program in regional areas and promote personal transportation tax policies. Unless this problem is tackled soon, the issue of traffic congestion will lead to a higher volume, which impact on the daily life of populaces.