Some people think advertising may have positive economic effects. Others think it has negative social effects because advertising makes individuals not satisfied with what they are and what they have. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Currently, there is growing awareness regarding the positive communication and negative sides of advertising. Some folks believe that advertisements are beneficial for economic development, while I believe that it has worse effects on society. Firstly, from my perspective of view, advertisements are harmful for young people, who have not built up grown-up minds. In order to attract more individuals to watch propaganda, some unrealistic but exciting plots will be shown in the videos. For example, Nike will promote its new shoes in announcement by displaying that athletes can do dangerous jumps and other highly-skilled movements after wearing them, which hints that Nike shoes have better performance. Teenagers might be misled and try their best to do some cool things in Nike shoes on the playground. However, they are not as skilled as sportsmen and thus they might be got hurt. The same logic can be applied to vehicles, some citizens might be motivated by high speed of Benzi cars and imitate the ads to drive very fast regardless of their own safety on the road. Secondly, it is likely that advertisements will deceive people into buying something they really do not need. Some emotional girls might be moved by romantic stories in ads and ask their husband or boyfriends purchase some unnecessary but lavish diamonds and bags on impulse to show their love. But they have already got enough bags and diamonds in their bedroom and their boyfriends need to use money for more significant things. And thus this kind of act will further break their relationships. Admittedly, propaganda has bright side on the economy. It could help individuals locate what they really need by building a bridge between the customers and sellers. After using the product of this brand, customers who watched ads will spread the characteristics of it by word-of-mouth and an increasing number of people will come to buy this kind of product if it’s good enough. Therefore, the economy will be boomed and the employees in the sellers’ company will earn enough salary and bonus. All in all, there are both advocates and drawbacks of propaganda, I still hold a firm belief that the dark sides of ads on society outweigh the bright sides of the economy.