Nowadays, more and more people decide to have children later in their life. What are the reasons? What are the effects on family life and society?

A growing number of young married couples these days choose to delay having children until later in life. This essay attempts to shed light on the driving factors behind this tendency before clarifying its detrimental impacts on family and community as a whole. There are a few reasons why some families choose not to become parents soon. First and foremost, young couples make this decision because they want to pursue their career. In particular, individuals allocate the initial years of their adulthood to prioritize their professional goals, which means that they only start building a family once they have achieved certain professional milestones. Secondly, young adults want to enjoy their life first. For instance, some married couples may want to put off having offspring in order to travel or pursue studies overseas with each other, which would enable them to spend more time together and make more memories. Having children later is negative overall for society and family life. The first impact is that raising kids at an old age is more challenging than that at a young age. This is because their health would not only decline but also their children are too little to self-manage. Furthermore, older mothers are more prone to health risks during pregnancy and their children are more exposed to innate diseases. If they give birth when they are too old, the babies being born might be less physically healthy. This might adversely affect the quality of the future workforce if too many people decide to follow this trend. In conclusion, there are several factors that contribute to the growing preference for delayed parenthood, which can have adverse effects on both family and society as a whole.