Nowadays, a lot of offices employ open-space designs instead of separate rooms for work. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages? At least 250 words - 40 minutes.

In the present age, whether open-space designs for offices provide more benefits than traditional ones has sparked much debate. Some people assert that open layout is beneficial in terms of improving employers’ collaboration whereas many others argue that in offices with open-spade design workers find it challenging to focus on their job owing to constant interruption. In this essay, I will consider both pros and cons of the discussion. Firstly, open spaces as a symbol of openness and honesty may stimulate employees’ open-mindedness and tolerance. More specifically, open spaces may lead to broad-minded workers who are more likely to collaborate with each other, approve of co- workers ’ ideas, as well as combine diverse perspectives. For instance, nowadays it is typical of workers in private offices to arrange online meetings or conferences. However, a live contact provided by the open layout helps co- workers to understand each other better and find the solution more productively. As far as the drawbacks are concerned, inability to focus on work due to plentiful distractions in open-space offices decrease work efficiency over the course of the day. If you are constantly able to see your colleagues passing by or hear a conversation between others, you are incapable of focusing on your task. For example, no one would manage to come up with unique ideas for a brand-new project if a co-worker sitting in front of you is wondering if you watched a football match at the weekend or who you will vote for in the elections of president. Therefore, companies which don’t emphasize private working spaces run the risk that their employees might enjoy each other’s company throughout the working day which would reduce total work output. To sum up, although, open-space designs for offices might enhance company’s efficiency by helping employers to continuously keep in touch and tackle with the problems more quickly, distractions ocurring in open layout can also prevent workers from being absorbed in their work and make them less prolific. On the basis of the above discussion, I believe that combining open spaces with private offices in an enterprise is the best solution since various situations require different kinds of working spaces