In most countries, the crime rate is often higher in urban areas than in rural areas. Why do you think that is? What can be done to reduce the crime rate?

Evidence suggests that in the vast majority of nations the percentage of crime in cities is higher than villages. Although there are specific root causes behind this issue, effective policies can be adopted to remedy this situation. There are two main reasons why public insecurity in cities has a bigger share in comparison with countrysides. Firstly, the population density is to blame. That is, unless cities, in rural areas most people know each other or are relatives thanks to the small community that they have, therefore; it is less likely that rural dwellers commite commute committed a crime. For example, a thief presumably do not steal from her or his family which is not the case for urban areas where people are strange. Secondly,in small regions most of the population are belong to the same social class while citizens come from a wide rage of classes so, lower classes might tend to offense the higher classe class of society and it can be seen that most of the thieves are poor and have tried to rob a wealthy person. There are, however, some solutions to tackle this phenomenon. One step would providing higher education for all people. That is to say, the more citizens are educated, the less they turn into criminals, Take a doctor or teacher as an example; these kind of people almost never deliberately commit a crime. Another viable alternative is to create more job opportunities in order to decrease deprivation. poverty leads to many social problems including criminal behaviours and wealthier people do not want to engage with any wrongdoing. To conclude, high polpulation is the main cause of high level of crime in urban regions and in spite of all contributing factors, facilitate community with higher education and lucrative jobs are the main key to solve this problem.