Social media has replaced the traditional methods of communication, and people use more and more social media to communicate, and to follow news and events. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages

Social news such as Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter are tools used to communicate with communities of different cultures, races and ethnicities across the globe. In this modern world, society especially teenagers and young adults have found social media very useful as it helps to learn new things academically or socially, and communicate with their peers without having to leave the comfort of their homes. Social media has also helped to communicate effortlessly with people living in a different parts of the continent as has replaced face-to-face interaction. This development has been found to be beneficial as it allows information to spread easily and quicker; for instance, the United Kingdom government used social media such as Facebook and Twitter to inform its citizens to remain in their houses during a lockdown during the pandemic. However, it has been found that teenagers are radicalised through social media without the knowledge of their parents which is detrimental to the life of such a child. Consequently, social media has affected the communication style of people which they can not communicate effectively with other members of society. Another disadvantage of social media is the approval of bullying, social sites have given room for bullies to reach anyone and on the media sites to bully, threaten and abuse people while in the comfort of their homes. while social media is indeed beneficial to people and the community, it is also detrimental to the community