The most effective way to solve traffic and transport problems in the cities is to encourage people from suburbs or the countryside to live in the cities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The problem of traffic jams has increased dramatically over past years, making it almost unbearable for people from distant areas to commute to work in the town. Some say that the preferable way to overcome this challenge is to foster the concentration of population in the cities. I completely disagree with this statement, since I find the mentioned solution inefficient and even harmful to citizens. Firstly, a lot of people enjoy living in the countryside, so making them move to the central location may be considered a violation of their aspirations. To cite an example, a vast majority of those who have chosen to settle down in the suburbs see several benefits in their lifestyle, like having better quality of air, lower level of noise pollution, and lower rental prices. To my mind, forcing them to change their current homes will not improve their wellbeing. Therefore, if people do not benefit from the solution, it should not be implied. Secondly, even if moving citizens from the remote areas to the central ones somehow improved the situation with traffic congestion, this measure would exacerbate other issues of the big cities. For instance, having a lot of newcomers in the capital will inevitably make housing prices skyrocketing, so the average standard of living will fall. Additionally, overpopulated areas may face difficulties with contamination. Hence, I assume that the idea of encouraging migration from one location to another has multiple drawbacks, that is why other measures to overcome transport difficulties must be found. To conclude, I firmly believe that moving individuals from the distant places to the towns is neither efficient nor beneficial for the society. Not only does it have little potential to ease traffic congestion, but it may also worsen the life of urban population. Another solution must be presented, which should be acceptable for both country and city dwellers.